new to the series world

ash

ok guys i have a freelander and have been on that forum, but i am new to the series world. i have bought a 1972 109 series witha 200tdi engine on standard box and a terrible 5" lift which i will be getting rid of.

never have involvement on landy's so i am a newbie to it. I gave £1100 for the vehicle, do you think that price is ok given engine has 115k and it needs a few niggly bits doing? just want to be sure i am not being ripped off. (not collected vehicle yet).

(it has cab conversion with it too, so thinking of fitting that to make it a pick up)

landy2.jpg

landy.jpg

landy4.jpg

landy3.jpg

thanks

The huge lift does spoil it - mostly because of the tiny tyres that it has fitted at present. Bigger tyres would make a huge difference to it, but you may have issues with the tyres rubbing at the front bumper/wing bottom edge by the looks of it.

Corrosion is the biggest thing with these older vehicles - rear crossmember, bottom of the chassis at the rear where it curves up towards the bump stop, and on top of the chassis rail - anywhere in the rear 3/4 of the chassis. If the chassis is good, then the money sounds ok.

Les.

As everyone knows, 109's are the the perfect Land Rover :P

From the pictures you've posted that thing looks like an abortion, sorry to be so frank, but I'd want to look at everything on that truck in great detail because I would not trust anything that's been done to it by the sort of idiot who did that lift or that engine conversion. If the chassis & bodywork are in reasonable nick and the engine is OK then the rest can be sorted out, but if I bought that truck I would want to take the whole thing apart and put it back together properly before driving it anywhere.

If you can post more pictures then we can laugh offer more helpful advice.

If you can post more pictures then we can laugh offer more helpful advice.

The ugliest lift in the world, by far!

A few comments from the pictures: