Bridgeport Milling Machine

LandyManLuke

I'm in the process of repairing a Bridgeport I acquired, I'm new to machining so have a few questions

- Does anyone know a good supply of R8 tooling? i've trawled ebay and found RDG tools, but I'm looking for others too

- What oil should I be using? the Bridgeport has plenty of oiling points so I guess I should stock up.

- Does anyone have any resources for cutting speeds/tool speeds for steel, aluminium etc?

Anyone else got a Bridgeport? any tips or words of advice?

Cheers,

Luke

E bay is the way forward,even the china junk isnt that bad. Get the collets that go direct into the spindle as the bridgeport suffers from a lack of ram height. A er 32 collet chuck would be good as these series are industry standard now, the days of the clarkson auto lock are over because a lot of tooling is now weldon shank

Got 3 of these old girls at work..

We use 32 hydraulic oil in all the oil points.

We use an industrial supply place in coventry for our bits them. We might have some old tooling for them that we'd be willing to sell on if your interested....

Cutting speeds and feeds i forgot a long time ago, we just look at tools and go, that looks about right, the interned will be your friend for this info.

I use RDG for the R8 tooling for my Lillian (Bridgeport clone), they're very reasonably priced and reasonable quality. I shouldn't worry too much about imperial collets, you won't find you need them much, unless you're into to model engineering like me.