Pektron A75-294 Diodes

Hi, All,

The vehicle is a 1991 Defender 110 CSW in middle east spec. which originally had a 3.5V8 but now has a 300Tdi

You can tell from my earlier requests for help that I'm no expert in electrickery.  I now have another question that I need help with.  In the rat's nest of old wires from behind the dash there are three Pektron A75-294 diodes.  The old wiring doesn't give any clue what they were for since none are connected close to any component and each seems to have multiple wires connected to it.   Also, cable colours do not give any sensible clues!  I'm assuming that they are all flyback diodes, but what circuits were they protecting, and are there only three circuits that need protecting?  Or can a single diode protect multiple circuits?  I've not seen this in any of the Youtube vids I've watched.

I understand that a flyback diode is required on inductive circuits, and those I've been able to identify are:

- Starter solenoid

- FIP solenoid

- Cabin heater fan motor

- Starter motor

- Ignition coil - from original motor

- Alternator

- Rear window Wiper motor

- Windscreen wiper motor

And I'm sure that I've not identified some😕.

So, if anyone with the necessary linked-up grey cells can enlighten me I will be very thankful.

Mike

OK, that's one accounted for, although I don't understand how it works in the VSR.  Damn electrickery!  Thank you, monkie. 

I've identified the section of wiring from the alternator to the battery, including the section to the no charge warning bulb.  This section is intact and includes the resistor, but does not include a diode.  As far as I can tell from the wiring sections the fuel shut-off solenoid does not have a connection to the alternator.

So what are the other two for? Do any of my list of suspects qualify?

Mike