Pulling to the right under braking

StreetDragster

Hi All,

1995 300TDi Discovery 5 door, has started to pull to the right under braking, i'm quite new to landrover ownership and all the bushes, bearings etc this thing has, has over whelmed me, can you give me an idea of what to check, how, and in what order.

So far, i'm pretty sure that the calipers aren't binding, after some repeated braking, i hope out and check the temp of the alloy wheels with my hand, all seem to be the same temp. The car drives ok in normal [none braking] driving, maybe a touch vague but this may be normal for a landrover, its the first 4x4 i've ever had.

The car has 2" extended dampers and springs, and Insa turbo tyres.

Any advice is massively appreciated

Thanks

Matt

Coulde be the right hand front caliper siezed, or the left hand one not working. If a disc brake is siezing it generates a lot of radiant heat, so just putting your hand near it will tell you (it may be blue as well). Could be air in the system, but this tends to give weak braking in general across the axle - along with excessive pedal travel (sponginess). If you press the pedal reapeatedy/rapidly and it 'comes up', then it'll most likely be air. Brake hoses can collapse/perish internally and act as a one-way valve, so brakes stay on or slowly release after you have taken your foot off the pedal. Radiant heat test is the first thing I would do. It's also worth mentioning that rear brakes doing the same thing can make the vehicle pull to one side, so check all of them.

Les.

Cheers Les, I've checked all four of the brakes after some repeated braking and they all appear to be the same temp, i've got an infra red thermometer which i'm going to use next just to confirm they are all equal in temp, i'm pretty sure its not the brake calipers, hence this post, as i cannot think of much that would occur under braking, but not under general driving.