converting form V8 EFi to V8 with carburettors

Smokydiesel

Ehm,

I think you'd only need to replace the inlet manifold for with one with carbs but I wouldn't.

If you must fit carbs fit the original SU's and not a bloody Eddlebrock / Webber.

I assume you've heard of Megasquirt but don't want to convert the EFi for some reason?

I assume you've heard of Megasquirt but don't want to convert the EFi for some reason?

Hi,

Bit of a V8 -newbie here...

I want to keep the job as simple as possible, that's why I was thinking of converting back to SU's

If I were to go down the EFI-route, what would I be looking at ?:

ObviousIy I need the computer....

I suppose that computer needs input by several sensors ?

Different throttle that sends signals to the computer ?

Or is it more simple than that ?

Thanks !

Edwin

Megasquirt isn't any more complex to set up than the standard Lucas Hotwire or Flapper systems - arguably easier (or at least that's what I found*) as you can plug a laptop in and see exactly what's going on. Of course if you happen to buy an engine with a complete loom, ECU, etc. then it is more expensive, but I'd never bother with the Lucas systems again. Plus you can use modern coil pack ignition instead of the distributor and have a V8 that doesn't splutter to a halt crying for WD-40 every time you drive through a pool.

As to whether you'd be happier with carbs or EFI I won't venture an opinion as I've no experience of running a carb'd land rover.