Seatbelts to harnesses. What's involved?

Josh NZ

Hey all. I was fantasizing the other day about when I finally get my Landy road legal and it occurred to me that if I was to remove my roof plus door tops and run just the windscreen, where do my seatbelts mount? As far as I know, the only mount is on the sides of the cab. Has anyone done or know of anyone who has done a swap to harnesses or something similar? Is my roofless fantasy even feasible? If yes, anyone know exactly what would be involved in making the change?

I reckoned that the most likely place would be to mount them to the bar bit that the front seats rest against. But I am no expert, so I thought I'd ask the knowledgeable lot who i have to come to love, the LR4x4 lads!

Please share your thoughts, it would be cool to see a think-tank of sorts and bounce some ideas round

Military seat belt hoop, either ex-mod, pattern, or home made. P&P make one I think, I'm making my own from 1½" BSP tubing. Roofless is entirely feasable, and reguarly to be seen in Series circles. Some people do mount the reels on the rear bulkhead, I don't like them because they pull down on your shoulder.

^^^^^^

What they said.

Harnesses are ok in a comp motor when rules dictate that you wear them, pain in the arse in a road going vehicle.

You will find yourself loosening them off so you can move which negates the point of fitting them!

If I was to just shift the mounting points of the belts, is the rear bulkhead a good place? Im not bothered about seatbelt comfort as I won't be doing a lot of road miles, mostly over landing and hunting trips. What's the deal with the legal side of things regarding shifting mounts? That craddocks bar looks the part!! Might recreate my own version of that ;)