diy restoration? (haynes restoration manual)

hello everyone does anyone have one of these manuals? are they any good. i'm looking to restore my 90 and i'm new to landrovers but am reasnobly handy with the spanners. just wondered wether anyone knows of any good guides. thanks for the help.

I have the Haynes manual, though I must say I didn't buy it, got it free from LRE with a subs. It's not bad, though the engine bit is dated, pre-tdi mostly. Good stuff on bodywork and seats and quite a lot of good advice. Better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick, as they say in Oz.

thanks for that its mainly the bodywork stuff i was looking for as the normal haynes doesnt ahve much in there about it. just dont want to pay thousands to have it restores if i can have a go myself. wouldnt mind having ago a painting aswell. we shall see.

The normal Haynes manual and the Haynes Restoaration manual are very different animals but are both worth buying if you are new to LR ownership, I have been around LR's all my life but still have a copy of each on my bookshelf and refer to them from time to time.

Certainly the Restoration manual covers more bodywork stuff (there is a very in depth-section on rebuilding a door for instance) and in my opinion you should get yourself copies of both.

i have got a normal maual which i have found quite interesting, does the restoration manual have much information about bulkhead removal/refit. i can imagine this is going to be quite a big job and just wether it was just time consuming or very technical.

sorry that didnt make much sense to me

What he means is that when you start the job you will be posting every night to ask questions about a paticular task you came across that day.

It doesn't cover a complete bulkhead replacement but it is a very usefull book and between the two of them you will have enough info to tackle the job without having to post questions every day.