Dip Stick

Hi all, i'm new to this landy thing so please be patient with me. Just got my first landy a 200tdi.

I've replaced the engine oil but when I checked the level after only about 1.5 ltrs the oil level

was about an inch above the Hi position. My mate says its the wrong Dip Stick.

When we had a closer look theres 2 home made marks further up the stick. But when we put the correct amount

of oil in the level again shows about an inch above the highest homemade mark.

What I would like to know off anyone is the length of a 200tdi Dip stick from the bottom of the cap (handle)

to the bottom of the Dip Stick so i can compare the lengths.

Also, if any of this is possible the distance from the bottom of the cap to the HI mark and the LO mark.

That way I can check my original marks and the homemade ones and buy a new one if needed.

Thanks in advance for any replys

SpenB

• Like 1

grab the tube & see if it moves up/down through the big nut at the bottom, if it does, undo the big nut take it into the garage & useing a pair of long nose pliers, open up the bottom of the tube to make the small olive fitting tighter on the tube, you should find a witness mark on the tube to show where the olive should be located, once that's done refit the tube/dipstick & check ol level as normal. mine did this & thats how I fixed it.

Defender 200Tdi dipstick should have a metal ring handle not a plastic one. if plastic you have the wrong dipstick fitted.

Guest wunntenn