7.50 Tyre Options

I'll shortly need new tyres for my 110 which is fitted with standard steel wheels. I'm looking for 7.50s in a mud pattern, the only ones I can find are Michelin XZLs or Goodyear G90s. I have no experience of either and would welcome views, or suggestions as to others that might be suitable.

Thanks,

Phil.

Check out the General Super All Grip available as a 7.50x16 crossply and a 7.50R16 radial, both tube type (becoming rare now! - but best for the original LR rims) but slightly different tread patterns.

The SAG xply is IMHO the best 7.50-16 mud tyre available but is LOUD on the road :)

Details http://www.4site4x4.co.uk/tyre-details.aspx?id=8 and http://www.4site4x4.co.uk/tyre-details.aspx?id=9

Check out the General Super All Grip available as a 7.50x16 crossply and a 7.50R16 radial, both tube type (becoming rare now! - but best for the original LR rims) but slightly different tread patterns.

The SAG xply is IMHO the best 7.50-16 mud tyre available but is LOUD on the road :)

Details http://www.4site4x4.co.uk/tyre-details.aspx?id=8 and http://www.4site4x4.co.uk/tyre-details.aspx?id=9

Thanks for that, I think the radial would be the option as I do a fair road mileage, what are they like? Also, does anyone have any views on the G90 or XZL, which are the others I've seen, or any other suggestions?

Cheers,

Phil.

Fedima offer their Extreme's in a 750R16, my Uncle used them last weekend at the ALRC National and they performed brilliant, not too bad on the road either considering how biased they are to an off road tread pattern.

Thanks for the suggestion, I'm wary of tyres with a directional tread and would rather avoid this.

In a previous job the vehicles I drove had XZLs fitted, these seemed a good tyre but it's a while ago. The same firm now fits G90s but I've never driven on these so I'm unsure. Any views on either? In fact, are the XZLs still available in 7.50s?

Cheers,

Phil.