Engine restorer ??? Any comments.

Hello All, I'm a newbie to the forum and would like to begin by thanking all you guys and girls for sharing your knowledge and expertise so freely. I own a '97 Defender 110 h/top with 188000 miles on the clock. I've since sandblasted, rustproofed and patched the chassis, fitted a new rear crossmember, changed the timing belt and done a full service, including new oil in the diffs, g/box and Xferbox, and soundproofed the interior, all this with the help of your detailed advise.

I would like to know if anyone has used "Engine Restorer" additive as advertised in the LRO magazine? If so I would greatly appreciate feedback or comments of any personal experiences.

Regards

Ivan

Don't bother... if you want to restore your engine, pull it apart and rebuild it.

Absolutely.

If you want to preserve it as long as possible, keep the oil changes short and often, and look at more serious preventative/long term maintainance.

Things like injector cleaning/overhaul are potential jobs that may well have a worthwhile benefit, on the other hand 'If its not broke don't fix it'

Those engine restoring fluids are great :D

However, I would suggest that Terry Chocolate Orange is even better,

1 x for a small 4 pot 2 x for a V8, pop the segments into the oil filler,

the chocolate as it disolves in the oil increases the viscousity, and thus quietens this down,

and you'll know how chocolate is smooth when melted, so hence its great

lubrication properties.

The orange, being slightly acidic "Cleans" the carbon build up off a treat,

or, if you can't get Terry Chocolate Ornage, After 8s (Large packet) also has the

additional side effect of a minty fresh smell from you exhaust - even deceasels :)

HTH

Nige

PS either of the above are seriously as much use as the snake oil products you've asked about :rofl: