Discovery 2 chassis

JGB

Hi everyone. Just bought my first discovery 2 and have discovered that the chassis is rotten around the spring mount and shocker on near side only and has split underneath. I am a competent welder. How ever I would like to know if this can be plated. 

IMG_0096.JPG

IMG_0097.JPG

IMG_0098.JPG

IMG_0099.JPG

There doesn't appear to be any good steel to weld plates onto - lol. 

What state is the steel further forwards? Is it good enough to weld a 1/3 chassis section to & replace all of the rot? 

The Underbody area appears to have been very badly treated. Our 2001 version looks nowhere near that bad! 

Hi,

Island 4x4 have what they call a "Half Chassis" which goes up to and includes the spring mounts. Since this is only a quater of the chassis I have no idea why it is called a "Half Chassis"?

Anyway there are two types one a lot more expensive then the other maybe one is painted?

The "half"  chassis is 1400mm long & is welded on just behind the trailing arm mountings. 

The 2 options I saw before I bought the cheapest version were

1, painted with primer, 

2, galvanised

To weld the galvanised version on, you'd have to grind the galvanising off in the areas to be welded & the person welding would have to put up with the splatter / spitting / toxic fumes  from whatever is left on the inside of the chassis. 

I decided the benefit of the galvanised version wasn't worth the extra cost as I was going to treat all of the new section & old with Dinitrol. 

Key question, looking at your photos is whether there is any good steel where you'd need to weld or further forwards. I've not seen a chassis look that bad before! 

Beware there is only 1 manufacturer of the large replacement section ( even though it's sold via various re-sellers)  & dimensional accuracy is not perfect. 

Here's some comments I made on another forum about the part we received : 

comments about the new chassis section (DDS Metals Part No. LRD213)