S3 transmission noise

jessejazza

I am trying to identify the cause of transmission/axle noise. When in 2WD I find she is noisy. Checked oil levels in the gearbox, changeover box, front and rear axles, wheel bearings front and rear. With a landy one should use 4WD I gather at least once a month just to get the oil round (standard hubs not free wheeling) - and I find in 4WD she is beautifully quiet by comparison. It seems one can only use 4WD at low speeds due to the gearing.

Just be grateful for suggestions for investigation as I am relatively new to a LR. If anything in 4WD she should be noisy as there are two diffs in use but it is with 2WD that I get noise.

24 minutes ago, jessejazza said:

...With a landy one should use 4WD I gather at least once a month just to get the oil round (standard hubs not free wheeling) - and I find in 4WD she is beautifully quiet by comparison. It seems one can only use 4WD at low speeds due to the gearing...

All the same bits rotate in 2WD and 4WD, the only difference is that in 4WD the front & rear axles are connected together, so with standard hubs I see no point in engaging 4WD once a month to splash oil around, it would ensure that the gear linkages &c don't seize up due to lack of use though.  If you have freewheeling hubs it wouldn't do any harm to engage them occasionally to splash the oil about a bit.

If you run in 4WD on tarmac the transmission will wind up due to the very slight difference in speed between the front & rear propshafts.  This winding up will eventually cause transmission damage, but before it does all the backlash in the gears will be taken up, making the transmission quieter.

• Like 1

Rog is bang on the money - the oil splashing thing is only if you have free-wheeling hubs.