One for the V8 folk

Bigj66

Where is the best place to buy a full gasket set for the engine reassembly?

There are tons of suppliers out there but I’m after a decent set of gaskets and seals etc that will do the job properly and not fail after half an hour. I know I will need to buy the sump gasket and upper manifold gasket separately as I have the Thor engine but that’s no drama in itself.

Can anyone recommend a quality aftermarket brand based on experience or am I best just biting the bullet and going for the more expensive Landrover kit?

I have no experience on the v8 engines, however on my diesel engines I always use Elring cylinder head gaskets. I did a quick search and they do a V8 version. I don't know if this is the right one for your particular v8 but it seems they are available. 

https://www.island-4x4.co.uk/head-gasket-incl-elring-head-gaskets-stc4082el-p-6566.html

14 minutes ago, monkie said:

I have no experience on the v8 engines, however on my diesel engines I always use Elring cylinder head gaskets. I did a quick search and they do a V8 version. I don't know if this is the right one for your particular v8 but it seems they are available. 

https://www.island-4x4.co.uk/head-gasket-incl-elring-head-gaskets-stc4082el-p-6566.html

Cheers although I don’t need the head gaskets as the heads haven’t been removed although I will probably keep a set in stock just in case. It’s the full kit of gaskets, seals and O rings that I’m after just to put the engine back together. I can buy most items separately and JLR still do genuine ones at a price but I’ve no idea which aftermarket brands are ok to use and I always try to avoid the cheap Britpart ones if I can.

I see. Its the head gasket and oil seals I've found to be critical. Elring also do oil seals as do Corteco. If possible for crank and cam seals I pay a little more and get genuine. For other places like the sump, rocker cover and timing case I apply just a little smear of gasket dressing like this one