New Member - With a question already!

Hi there

I've just bought my very first Land Rover (sooo exciting)! A 1985 Defender 90 with not too much rust... I knew it would't be the smoothest ride ever, having owned a few classics in the past, but I have to say the play on the steering was almost scary. I've read some of the other topics suggesting culprits for this, but being a complete novice when it comes to anything other than points, plugs and bushes, I'm really hoping someone can suggest a reputable mechanic in my area or thereabouts (Bedfordshire).

Any help/advice appreciated. In the meantime I've attached some pics of my new love :-)

Andy.

post-8140-1206393347_thumb.jpg

post-8140-1206393379_thumb.jpg

Check the drop arm on the bottom of the steering box, been known to loosen despite having a torque setting of 6ft scaffold tube and grunting F' me, that's tight.

Andy,

When I lived in Luton I used 'AutoLand' in Houghton Regis. Always had good service from them. Think the guys names there were Andy & Bill - http://www.4x4service.co.uk/

cheers

Gavin

Hi Andy, It is so nice to see an unmolested Ninety! Mine looked very similar to yours Three years ago when i got it,same non opening rear side windows too. Your truck has had a respray/panels changed at some time as the cappings in 1985 were still Galv and not painted and the doors had cappings on them too.

Welcome

Here`s mine before i bought it

JENNYPENNY.jpg

Welcome Andy !

Much work on the 90 is very simple and straightforward and can be completed yourself using the workshop manuals and any further questions you can ask here. You'll save yourself heaps of money and have the satisfaction of doing it yourself. :)

Mo

Welcome to the forum, no doubt like me you will soon be checking this place more regualry than you think.

Nice looking 90, when i started i didnt have much mechincal knowledge / experience but no have the confidence and help through the forum and work shop manuals to have a go at most things