brit part springs

ben

i have put standard hight uprated britpart springs and bilstien shocks front and rear on my td5 90 and the front end is ride high. wondered if this is right as i have been looking at other rovers with suspension mods and they don't seem as high. hope someone knows something.

p.s i'm 99% sure i have put the correct springs on the end of the rover

Had exactly the same with a set of standard Britpart springs I put on a disco a little while back - seemed to be an ich or two up at the front.

They're just quite stiff springs I think - sure they'll settle down after a little while. You could also put some of the rubber spring isolators on top of the rear springs - this will lift the back up a cm or so.

I'm no suspension expert.... but I think putting a heavier duty spring rate in has the same effect as increasing the pre-load on a standard spring - ie it increases the ride height because the spring supports more weight and thus reduces the static sag ......

Though I'm sure someone will be along to tell you the real reason soon :D

The problem with +2 etc... is they rarely take into account the vehicle type or the weight distribution. The best handling Defender I've ever driven is Pam's 90 which is on 50th Anniversary LR springs, it uses a differently rated spring on each corner !

I have approx. a 2inch lift on mine by using LR OEM springs with HD 110 hard top springs on the back and Disco rear springs on the front (red and whites I think). Took a while to find the right combination of springs but I'm happy with them now and it handles really well and I know pretty much that any replacement I buy is going to be the same rating/height.

The problem with +2 etc... is they rarely take into account the vehicle type or the weight distribution. The best handling Defender I've ever driven is Pam's 90 which is on 50th Anniversary LR springs, it uses a differently rated spring on each corner !