Forum Newbie

Evening,

I'm a newbie on here although I've had my 200 Tdi Defender 90 for about a year now.

I'm a bit of a green laning enthusiast although regularly break the cardinal sin of 'laning on my own. I have paid the price recently (stuck at the bottom of a deep ditch, being propped up by a tree!) and have suffered a bit of panel damage (it was a matter of time really!).

I want to make a few improvements over the next few years, notably some decent A/T tyres and new wheels, a winch, snorkel etc.

I am learning to do repairs myself bit by bit but really only have a very basic knowledge of mechanics and such. I'm pretty lucky to have a very helpful Landy mechanic over my way though and if he thinks you can do something yourself he will tell you how to do it over the phone.

Looking forward to having a natter with a few of you about land rovers

John

Cheers guys. There's loads of good stuff on here and I'm sure the tech section will come in handy again and again and again.

My Landy started pulling to the right quite a lot yesterday. Track rod is a bit out of shape, it's obviously taken a bit of a whack. My wheels are slightly out of line but can't get it seen to til January now. Bumma :(

My Landy started pulling to the right quite a lot yesterday. Track rod is a bit out of shape, it's obviously taken a bit of a whack. My wheels are slightly out of line but can't get it seen to til January now. Bumma sad.gif

Try pulling it straight with a rachet strap or some sort of winch. I had to do the same once when I wrapped mine around a tree trunk, made for an interesting drive down the track with the wheels pointing in different directions!

Only really good for a temporary repair of course, but should see you through.

Oh, and welcome! :D

• 2 months later...

Ended up getting a new track rod put on but it was still pulling to the right.