winches

dazwell24

hello guys and girls im a complete novice to winches yet i am just about to buy one for my 90 can anyone give me the pros and cons of hydraulic vs electric other than price lol ;) and i have been offered 2 electric winches off 2 mates who have bout them and never got around to putting them on to there truck one is a ELECTRIC WINCH 12,500lb 12V WINCHMAX and the other is T-MAX WINCH 12,500Ibs OUTBACK any pointers would be much appreciated as i wouldn't know the difference between a cheapy ebay thing to a decent comp winch :rolleyes::P

many thanks dazwell24

hello guys and girls im a complete novice to winches yet i am just about to buy one for my 90 can anyone give me the pros and cons of hydraulic vs electric other than price lol ;) and i have been offered 2 electric winches off 2 mates who have bout them and never got around to putting them on to there truck one is a ELECTRIC WINCH 12,500lb 12V WINCHMAX and the other is T-MAX WINCH 12,500Ibs OUTBACK any pointers would be much appreciated as i wouldn't know the difference between a cheapy ebay thing to a decent comp winch :rolleyes::P

many thanks dazwell24

David boyer's TDS Goldfish range are highley rocomended for the money, dont waste your money on a carp thing that will let you down when you most need it,

Carl.

After much musing on the very same question you pose now, I decided to go for a TDS as above. Then in the future upgrade to a bigger winch on the front (maybe hydro maybe not) and put the TDS on the rear.

Of course that's all changed now as the 90 is no longer a pure off-roader, but the plan was still there!

• 1 month later...

start as you mean to go on, get a second hand 8274, service it when you get it, run it till it dies and upgrade it with whatever breaks or when buget allows, put a gigglepin mainshaft in it, and a new motor.