3D printing - has anyone used 'SketchUp'?

Dan110

Hi all,

I'm thinking about having a go at creating a few bits and bobs that might be useful around the house and having them printed by shapeways or similar. Just fairly simple stuff to start with.

I'm a complete novice and have no experience on CAD or similar but I already have SketchUp and i've spent a few hours playing with it. Shapeways seem to accept sketchup files.

I know there have been a few mentions of this in the technical forums but i just wondered if anyone has any tips specifically relating to novices and online 3D printing services - any recommended apps that make it easy or am I better off putting the time in on a more complete programme? Any good or bad experiences with particular retailers? I quite like the look of shapeways' 'print it anyway' option just because it might provide a usable product despite errors in the design.

Thanks for anything you've got!

Dan

Dan

I have worn out my 3D printer as I have used it constantly for a year and a half. What I would say is that if you don't have one buy one they are reasonably cheap I got mine for £450 but the last time I looked it was £380.

I have 20 years using CAD both 2 and 3D but this is a new thought process entirely as you need to consider the thickness of the filament when you are printing and you need to make sure that everything is built from the platform up and if there are cantilevers how they are supported during printing.

Great fun but have made about 80% duff to 20% useful models so it is best to have the printer beside you as you will find the models will evolve even if you are sure of what you want. Guaranteed it will look different once you have the prototype in your hand.

Hi Simon,

That's helpful, thanks for that.