300 tdi low coolant alarm

m1chaelw

I'm wondering if anyone has any up to date information on how to go about this . All the threads I've read have been a good few years old.

Is it still the case of a Range Rover expansion cap with a custom circuit ?

If so now that these circuits have been out there a while , which has worked best .

If someone could point me in the right direction as im not too experienced in electronics

Thanks in advance Thumbs Up

Mike

I used the Range Rover cap with one of the many published custom designs.  Just modified the design so that it didn't alarm on bumps.  Didn't fancy drilling into the expansion tank to insert the screws.

The Bearmach cap and float switch that I bought contained nothing more complex than a magnet and reed switch, one relay and buzzer later and it was all done.

I've never seen the original RRC 'switch' dissected and cant see any reason why the original switch would be more complex.

3 hours ago, m1chaelw said:

Thanks for the replys guys , appreciate it

has anyone got the original wiring diagram ?  All the images have gone on the threads ive found . 

Closest one I've found is :

https://www.landroverexpedition.com/technical/300tdi-low-coolant-alarm/

This has worked well for me in the last 5 years. It comes on when I brake hard so I know it's still working :D

The G5V relays in the landroverexpedition link have a very low current coil, it might very well work fine run direct from the sensor without the transistor. If I remember rightly, the LR cap has a resistor in series with the reed relay in the cap. I can't remember the resistance though - will have to dig back in my notes.

EDIT : Dug through the debris of my old website, the LR sensor cap PRC7925 has a resistor of about 680 ohms in series with the reed switch, so even the little G5V relay will probably not operate reliably without the buffer transistor.