D90 wiring loom - to replace or not

muzaz

I need some thoughts before I do anything to the wiring especially since I have no experience in the matter!

I have removed the bulkhead loom from my D90 in preparation for a bulkhead replacement. The wiring looks a bit stiff and brittle, it's an 1988 truck, and still has glass fuses in it. The connector plugs are super hard to separate. The wiring which goes into the gauges looks like a spaghetti dish! I would like to tidy up the harness, maybe use some conduit or some sort of seathing.

I also need to replace the engine loom, the original was for 2.5na and the replacement is 200tdi, but it has no wiring.

While at it, what are my options? Is it advisable to replace the loom with something more modern or use maybe use the original loom and make some changes etc? 

When you say “more modern” what are you expecting? In reality a new loom will just be wires and connectors. Apart from being less old it won’t be doing anything any different or more modern. 

Ie There hasn’t really been a technical advancement in wires. 

That said, if the old loom is at the point of cracked insulation and maybe poor connections. It may be worth replacing. Although it is not cheap or a 5 min job. 

Many people also upgrade the fuse box to the latter push in fuses. The glass style can be fine, but more prone to minor surface corrosion on the fuses that can cause issues. 

Making the loom look tidier might be hard. Wires need to go where wires need to go. And most are hidden away behind the dash. 

However, the old adage if it ain’t broke…..

As a rule many factory components are good quality and last well. And while we’d all hope buying new would be an upgrade, sometimes they don’t last as long. Not saying this will be the case, but cheap wires are rubbish and cause problems. Not saying any of the looms for sale are like this. But only time can tell. Many factory looms are still working perfectly fine in much older Land Rovers without issues.