Know much about TVR V8s

ripley

Ive just been offered a fully rebuilt 4.0litre TVR Bottomend with 3.9 R/R Heads & EFI, uprated cam, steelrockers etc for a very good price, but was wondering if there is any difference between the 4.0TVR bottomend & a 3.9 R/R bottomend ie is it crossdrilled or is it just a normal 3.9 called a 4.0 just to sound good??

Ive just been offered a fully rebuilt 4.0litre TVR Bottomend with 3.9 R/R Heads & EFI, uprated cam, steelrockers etc for a very good price, but was wondering if there is any difference between the 4.0TVR bottomend & a 3.9 R/R bottomend ie is it crossdrilled or is it just a normal 3.9 called a 4.0 just to sound good??

I'm not an expert, so if i get contradicted don't get surprised.

i uprated my engine from 3.9 to 4.0. The actual CC of the engine didn't change!

Everything else did change though- so the engine was way way better!

Do you mean is the engine Crossbolted? you can see this for yourself if they get a piccy to you- you are looking for a range of 5? blt holes on the side of the block just above the sump- bolts which screw into the bearing caps (these are the bits that hold the crank into the block- could be called something else) and keep the crank nice and tight so at high revs things don't get out of line and blow the engine up. If you are using the engine in a landy then crossbolting the block would be almost totally pointless (unless you are comp safarying). I have a cross bolt block which isn't cross bolted for that very reason.

Most imporant thing i would ask is whether the liners have been swapped for top hat versions so that the thing can't slip it's liners any more or have porosity problems!

If the bottom end has been rebuilt ask what tolerances it has been balanced to- assuming the rotatinng assembly has been balanced- if it has then you will get a much smoother engine which will be more efficient and rev much more highly!