Upgrading late 110 brakes

Hi All,

I have a customer with some very heavy late 110's, mainly TD5's and Puma's,

Hi is keen to try and improve the brakes and I am looking for some info on this, I am not sure but I guess they are getting hot and fading.

so far I have seen you can get aftermarket drilled/grooved discs and different pads but are there any other options worth considering.

thanks for any help,

Dave

Hej Dave. A really good upgrade regarding hot brakes is the brake pads with Sintered metal. I'm not 100% sure what you call these in English, but you know them, it's those where you can see small bronze-threads mixed into the padding itself. I haven't tried this on a 110 in specific, but I'm a Motorcycle mechanic and on these it makes a-hell-of-a difference! So that and drilled/grooved discs and I would think that is as good as it gets. Or if you could find some larger diameter discs, but I don't know if that is possible.

if it is fade, you want to try changing the pads for some that are designed to work at much higher temperatures, and also change the brake fluid to something like Castrol SRF, as again it will operate much hotter before boiling.

EBC do a few pad upgrades for the defender that might be worth trying, but personally i'd be throwing some Mintex M1144's in there, they will make a BIG difference.

Exactly Aragorn. 'Cause the thing about hot brakes is that the pads creates a gas when at a certain temperature and this gas makes them "float" on the disc, hence less braking power. And when you fit these Sintered metal pads, the heat will be transferred at a much faster rate because of the bronze and directly into the piston, which will then guide it to the caliper etc etc. But also the brake fluid will rise in temperature as the piston gets warmer. So you want to use some DOT5 or more and change it regularly.