Td5 Warm start concern.....

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to diseasels and could do with your views.

I have a Td5 with 63,000 miles on the clock. I've owned it for the last 8,000 and it's started first turn cold or hot since I've owned it.

Yesterday I did a little road trip from Cambridge to Exeter and back. (Approx. 450 miles)

Mostly of the journey was cruising at 70 with roverdrive engaged.

We stopped at Leigh Delemare services on the way back for coffee. When I cranked the truck didn't start immediately. Second crank, held the key slightly longer and it "bumbled" into life. It caught and gradually revs increased to normal tickover.

Glad it was running normaly we concluded the journey without further issues.

Today, cold start, glow plug light out, crank and away it went normally. Thought it must have been a one off yesterday so went about my business.

Then, came home to get Tesco 5p off voucher... Switched off to come inside, grabbed wallet and voucher and back out to truck. Turned the key and it didn't fire first time. Cranked again and it caught and ran rough for a part of a second and built to normal tickover.

Drove fine to petrol station. Filled up and again it failed on first crank but caught and ran on second crank.

It's still driving fine once started.

I've connected up to Faultmate and the ECU has no faults registered.

All sensors seem to be working fine, water 85 - 88, Air 16 degrees etc. Only thing that looked slightly weird was fuel registering at 55 degrees...

Anything I should be looking at that springs to mind?

Thanks in advance.

Neil

I've known a few like that, just a thing with diesels starting when hot. Usually because the engine management system doesnt use the glowplugs when hot. If it's not showing any faults i wouldn't worry.

The only other thing that causes poor starting on TD5's is the injector seals but that usually shows worse when the engine is cold. You'd also expect to see a bit of diesel in the oil.