Defender to a Disco

hcater

I have searched for previous answers to this but they all seem pretty old and as a 300tdi is getting on a bit, hoped someone might be able to pass on some newer advice...

A couple of years ago I bought a beautiful P reg Defender 90 hard top 300tdi, it was in excellent condition with 104,000 miles on the clock. An idiot adolescent pulled out in front of me and it was unfortunately written off (his car came off a lot worse!) so I am finally looking to replace it. I would love another Defender but can't really afford a nice one and I'm not a gifted mechanic so need something that works. I am instead looking for a Disco, but have some questions.

• I would like a 300tdi (more oomph than a 200 and no so keen on the TD5), are these the same engines used for the Defender?
  • Having read several articles, this engine seems to go on and on and on. What is high mileage for one of these as most Discos over 10 years have 110000-140000 miles and I'd like to know whether or not they are about to disintegrate.
  • I would like a model pre 2000/1 to avoid the tax hike, what model is known to be the best? ( I am not doing any serious off roading!)
  • Other than the usual stuff (rust, chassis condition etc), are there any major problems to look out for now these vehicles are getting on a bit?
  • Is a budget of £1500 realistic to get a nice(ish) 300tdi Disco?

Any help would be gratefully received as I am getting withdrawal symptoms!

I'd highlight body rust as your biggest concern/enemy. The chassis is relatively easy to patch. Rust, when it gets into the sills, then up into the A, B and C pillars, it's a pain in the backside to repair (and the boot floor and rear wheel arches).

There are various odds and sods to go wrong, like window regulators, door lock cams, and the alarm/central locking and window ECU's, but as so many vehicles are being broken these days, bits are cheap(ish).