Brake Warning Light. On then off and then on!

jbud

Hi

I've read a lot about the brake warning light but can't solve my problem. I have a 1983 Series 3. There is not test button, just the rectangular brake light in the center dashboard.   Basically the light turns on when the ignition is turned on (first two clicks). It goes off when the engine is cranking (which is when I thought it was supposed to go on) and then remains on after engine has started, key goes back one click..

Perhaps the wrong ignition wire to the relay?  Thoughts!

Thanks

J

Edited by jbud

I have no hands-on experience, but this extract from the Workshop manual may help. Note that the lamp may be a button that acts as a test switch.
I note your USA location, but don't have a section relating to USA vehicles (if such a section exists).

Regards.

S3-Brake-Warning-light-Wkshop-description.gif

• Like 1

Thanks for this. I'll read and digest.  Despite being in the USA, the S3 is a RHD one I imported many years ago when I moved to this country from the UK..   My understanding is that on the late S3's the only switch in the circuit is the pressure differential switch with a dual brake system and that the travel and vacuum switches weren't installed....but I'll check again.  Also there's no test switch, just a rectangular Brake light. I disconnected the pressure diff switch to open the circuit (light should have gone off) but it remained illuminated indicating a ground situation somewhere else in the circuit.  I'll check to see if the other switches exist or not and if so whether they're faulty.

The joys of S3 ownership....I love them!

Thanks.

J

It should go out, I'm afraid it's time to chase the circuit, as it suggests a fault with the system. 

Don't assume it's electrics, it could be a brake failure. A leaking pipe can trigger the PDWA switch.

For electrics:

It could be the relay, the vacuum or the Pdwa in your system, (same as mine).

The test procedure in Davids excerpt still applies.