Working Sheet Aluminium - Drawers etc

RichardAllen

I have no sheet metal working experience, but want to have a go at making some small drawers, fascia bits etc out of sheet aluminium, so I am after some advice.

This http://www.axminster.co.uk/product-Axminster-750mm-Sheet-Metal-Worker-23170.htm seems to do a bit of everything and it is affordable.

If I want to make a shallow box/tray, say 300mm x 600mm by 50mm deep will this machine do ?

I am clear that I can use the shear to get the right size plate to start with, but can I also use it to cut the corner notches. ?

Can I bend all 4 box sides fully using the press brake ? If so, do I just bend one after the other, or is it easier to do it a different way ?

The spec says it can bend/roll/shear 1.5mm aluminium. Does this mean that there is no chance of working 2mm chequer plate, even if annealed ?

Apparently I should not cut aluminium sheet with an angle grinder - is this hard and fast, or are there ways around ? If not, I do have a 2 speed wood working band saw, can I buy a blade for cutting Aluminium on it, if so what spec ?

I have had a look through the threads but may have missed the "Metal Working for Dummies" one

I have also failed to find much help on the net, apart from a couple of youtube video's, so anyone know any good sites covering basic sheet metal working ?

All help gratefully received.

Regards

Richard

The spec says it can bend/roll/shear 1.5mm aluminium. Does this mean that there is no chance of working 2mm chequer plate, even if annealed ?

Chequer plate is evil stuff to bend because of the raised chequers, and personally I think it's over-rated and over-used anyway :ph34r:

Apparently I should not cut aluminium sheet with an angle grinder - is this hard and fast, or are there ways around ? If not, I do have a 2 speed wood working band saw, can I buy a blade for cutting Aluminium on it, if so what spec ?