Which A frame ball joint

options options, decisions decisions!

I like the idea of buying one pressed into the housing but has anyone had one for any length of time? MPS do one for £60, Gwyn Lewis ~£90. These are unbranded.

adjustable and greasable? any need for this?

I can pick up a Delphi for less than £20 delivered so I am tempted to 'have a go' myself (yes I have read the threads :blink: ).

I just want to know how long the unbranded ones are likely to last and is the delphi a better/safer bet?

cheers knowlegable ones!

G

I'm no expert in this as I've never done one, but I'd be tempted to go for the greasable one as it'll could give you longer service, but then again, if your truck is only a weekend toy, then go tfor the Delphi one, seeing as you can buy 3 delphi ones for a Gwn Lewis one!

steer clear of unbranded ones IMO, you might be able to take the delphi one apart anyway and fit a grease nipple yourself actually if it were me, I'd go for the Delphi one and see if I could modify it.

Can't say for sure but I suspect when you buy one already pressed in it is likely to be the delphi one (or in Gwen Lewis's case a better quality greasable one) the rest of the cost is for sourcing a housing (exchange unit?), pressing the old joint out, cleaning and painting the housing then pressing the new unit, getting that done for £40 is not that bad.

If you try and do it your self it really is easiest to take the housing and joint to a garage or engineering shop and get them to change it for you, if you ask nicely you may get some one to do it for a few quid cash during there lunch break.

Can't say for sure but I suspect when you buy one already pressed in it is likely to be the delphi one (or in Gwen Lewis's case a better quality greasable one)

thats what im trying to establish. is it actually better quality?

G