Automotive circuit design.

skauldy

Guys,

Anyone know of any good books where I can read about the basics of circuit design. The like of when I want to add spots and know what mm2 wire to use, what size relay amps wise and what rating of fuse to use. I have bought two books that were pure ****, and googled the life out of it. The majority of the Google search is fault finding and after reading a few pages in it says we're not going to talk about circuit design :(.

I did do it years ago when I was an apprentice but forgot most of it and now out of the motor trade 10 years,

Shane.

Say for arguments sake I have a spot light that's 160w so 160w/13.8v = 11.6 amps. Does this mean any cable with a rating of over 11.6amps will do or is their a percentage value. Then if the consumer is drawing 11.6amps what is the calculation to work out the fuse ratings. It's a single circuit.

The fuse is only there to stop the wire melting when there's a problem. So it also wants to be as close to your power source (battery/main feed wire) as possible but also where practical. Think of it all in loops helps ie. Positive feed-fuse-switch(or relay)-item(spots etc)-earth(negitive).

Mike

This has been for me a very good source of information :

9781844253029.jpg

with this :

4267_node.jpg?itok=H_LeV7wp

We've been building looms etc. for loads of vehicles and so far no complaints...

Thanks guys.

So back to my spots example. Power is 11.6amps, use 2mmsq cable which is 16amps capablilty with a 15 amp fuse. Ok cool. :)

I see theirs a chart to work out cable size depend on its length of run.

Thanks Arian, will pick up these books on a,as on and get reading. Hopefully going to start wiring up my truck soon.

Thanks for all the replies guys

Thanks guys.

So back to my spots example. Power is 11.6amps, use 2mmsq cable which is 16amps capablilty with a 15 amp fuse. Ok cool. :)

I see theirs a chart to work out cable size depend on its length of run.