welders

watson

hi

im looking for a welder at the moment, any got any advise im thinking a sip 195amp mig, would this be ok for welding up roll cages and other structural work and is sip a good make???

as you can guess im fairly new to this and im only 15 so any help wuold be much appreciated

thank from watson

Is SIP a good make? that's questionable. I have heard of lots of people who have had problems with the wire feed mechanism.

Personally, i would want more than 195A for roll cage mounts etc. With welders it really is a question of 'you get what you pay for', a cheaper welder will be harder to use and give poorer results than an higher quality welder.

Have a look at www.mig-welding.co.uk, there is a helpful forum on the site.

Hi,

I've got a SIP 130 MIG. It's a pice of s**t, wire feed problems from not feeding wire to uneven wire feed rate meaning I could never get the hang of it. My brother who is an 'adult welder' and welds as part of his job, thinks it is so bad he refuses to use it when helping me in my garage. When I finally went on a welding course I discovered the majority of my issues were down to the guff welder I had. You get what you pay for......... My brother has a big Murex unit and things it's good.

Adrian

I have a SIP topmig 196 and it is perfectly able to weld cage mounts

never let me down, ok for the money and all I need t weld.

And Mount Bures was a stones throw from when I lived in Sudbury

lucily you have some good members fairly local to you

Petergg being the nearest