LT77 gearbox

Hi people, I have had a defender for about 8 months and it seems the gearbox has gone! it still drives but it jumps out of 1st & 2nd when you start off or CRUNCHES like mad when you try to change into those gears. The only gear that does not make a noise is 4th gear but its hard to start off at a junction in 4th!?

So I took it to a landrover centre near me and he wants £1500 for a recon gearbox! (is that normal) I have fitted engines before without any help to rover metro's and mini's so I thought what the **(><" I will fit the bloody gearbox myself, I can buy one for about £400.

Would anyone suggest I do or I don't!

I don't mind hard work and I am pretty switched on I think!

I would really appreciate your thoughts on this Guys as you have all the experience.

dennis

Dennis, I am no mechanic, but would like to think I could muddle through it, you will get loads of help on here if required. as for a recon LT77 box about £350 seems about the mark, £1500 I would say is for a new one.

Have a look in the tech archive, Les has loads of great photos and knowledge in there, may be one of fitting.

Oh yes, Welcome to LR 4x4, drop some details in on the Members Trucks page.

Plus, get some pics up for us to see, we are very nosey :ph34r:

Cool thanks, the guy in the garage did actually specify it would be RECON! I think everything he does is double the price, a starter moter for the same vehicle is £198! whereas everywhere else it was around £100.

Thanks for the encouragement I really need it.

I will get posting and looking.

dennis

Hi people, I have had a defender for about 8 months and it seems the gearbox has gone! it still drives but it jumps out of 1st & 2nd when you start off or CRUNCHES like mad when you try to change into those gears. The only gear that does not make a noise is 4th gear but its hard to start off at a junction in 4th!?