OT: Idea for Funds

JST

With so many new members (which is good) and alot of random posts/questions from members old and new, how about suggesting a subscription to new members when they sign on?

it need only be £3 or so but would show they are truly interested and not coming along to spam the place up.

Only an idea that has been bounded around several times that i picked up on at one of the meetings/events, original idea is not from me either just thought i would air it now.

if when i started if it had cost money i may have not signed up

9 month later very happy i did but money may put members off

and a forum without members is not a forum.

yes i am a farmer and yes i don't like spending my money

Guest diesel_jim

Trouble is.... "free" forums are either moderated by one person who couldn't care less, and it ends up in a downward spiral of foul language, "anything goes", dross and lots of other rubbish.(some forums DO actually work well like this though, take ORRP for example, but it's one of the few)

or it ends up under the wing of a big magazine, where you daren't put a foot wrong by stating that a certain company isn't very good, because they advertise in said magazines pages.

James,

TC is the man to answer this, but what I do know is

The forum financially is "Safe" funding wise for the forseable future

We DO have a few members who have signed up to the Month DD :)

We do have a number of members who contribute now and again :)

We have had some events - Such as Jezs kind DVD Ladoga and Les clutch forks that have raised good monies :)

We do have members who sell stuff and then contribute from time to time from the proceds :)

We did discuss this whole saga some while back in the mods forum, but the reasons we didn't do anything was

(all of the above)

The forum financially is "Safe" funding wise for the forseable future

We DO have a few members who have signed up to the Month DD :)

We do have a number of members who contribute now and again :)