Engineers Report

simonr

I've been asked to write an engineers report for an insurance company - since I have the appropriate professional qualification.

This is for someone with a modified 90 - which has quite a lot of X-Eng in it - hence asking me!

However, I have no idea what it needs to contain! The insurance company thinks that since I'm an Engineer - I will automatically know! I don't remember that ever being mentioned on my course though.

I dare say I'll have to produce something for my Electric Freelander too (which moved for the first time last night!)

Any ideas on headings, sections, content, format - that kind of thing would be brilliant!

Si

I would imagine that if it is for an insurance company, that they want to know that all

the bits boltet on are up to spec and will in no way affect the vehicle adversely.

They probably would like some details of relavant testing or a CofC signed by your goodself.

Edited by geoffbeaumont
Edited to remove joke which was in extremely poor taste

I recently provided the DVLA with an engineers report. They seemed quite happy with it.

It went something like this:

My Address,

21st June 2009

Ref: VEHICLE REG NUMBER

To whom it may concern,

The vehicle with the above registration mark has been fitted with blah blah blah...

The work has been carried out using/by/whom etc and has been finished to a roadworthy standard.

If there are any questions relating to the above vehicle, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Yours faithfully,

Name BEng (Hons.) MEng (Hons.) PhD EOoW IEEE IMarEST IMechE etc...

Company name, Position.

Of course, laid out correctly. As you have the XEng thing too...might be worth putting it on headed paper.

It seems that as we are engineers, we are above suspicion, and our word is gospel.

Thanks for your help.

I understood what the report was for - just wanted to know if there was a preferred format. But I think James has hit the nail on the head!

Cheers,

SI

Hmmmm,