Brake calipers?

Do you have a 90 or a 110? If you have a 90 then more powerful brakes on the back may cause them to lock up. I have recently replaced my discs and calipers, front and back - the rears lock first without a load in the back (not really done any serious braking when loaded).

I thought the axles on a 110 were a heavier load rating, like the Salisbury?

I am still quite new to land rover maintenance so please don't read any of my comments as being from an expert. 

I might be wrong but I thought at some point land rover made calipers the same across the range but that may of been just defender. It would of been around 300tdi td5.

From memory the bolt pattern is the same but off set isn't, I have two 110 rear calipers with different offsets but I don't know what year the newer one is. But as Mossberg says why upgrade? Unless you have massive non standard front brakes upgrading the rear may result in locking the rear often. The brakes on all land rovers are good assuming they work correctly. I normally find I loose traction (mud tyres) long before I get brake fade.

Mike

• Like 1

I dont know why people bugger about with brakes so much. My front caliper/rear drum setup works perfectly and is how it was all designed. This, axles and suspension all seem to be setups LR got just right and arent worth time fiddling with! 

• Like 2

19 hours ago, reb78 said:

I dont know why people bugger about with brakes so much. My front caliper/rear drum setup works perfectly and is how it was all designed. This, axles and suspension all seem to be setups LR got just right and arent worth time fiddling with!