MOG LR hybrid axle build

46 minutes ago, dangerous doug said:

For a long while now I’ve had a set of mog 404 axles sitting in the corner of the workshop. Have never really been sure what to do with them as they have been destined to be under 3 project now and it’s never happened. It’s never been quite right. But I’ve been keeping up to date with others builds and impressed with the ammount of innovation going on (especially the @Stellaghost build) so now I have enough parts to toss my hat in the ring, I shall….

just want to say, I’m not the first to come up with this idea @Soren Frimodt was the first I’ve known to do it and we have briefly spoken about what’s involved. So I started playing about grafting mog axle flanges onto a trussed landrover axle case, flipped the diff and drilled the axle to accept. That’s where I stopped a few years ago. Then I came across some fabricated axle cases so cheap that I couldn’t say no, they were made by a reputable company who are no longer Pershing the project. The result is this

Mog case, trussed landrover case and the new case(rear pictured)

A7B34334-D6BA-44E4-B4D8-775368F4B626.thumb.jpeg.a7830392a7566f5ab268f63a9514d058.jpeg

My main issues are the fancy new case differs in dimension massively to the others(duh) the original idea by soren is to cut the flange off of the landy case and mog case then slip the mog flange over the landy tube. Done.

72442DA6-5F9E-4C31-8537-2161EBD896EA.thumb.jpeg.a29647048d27db93f68429cbcc7aeadb.jpeg

the new case uses a 3” tube, the ID of the mog flange is 81mm so that’s a no go. The other issue is the front axle tube is 62mm shorter than a mog case, i would like to keep them the same length but this created problems. It’s no big deal, the half shafts will have to be special ones anyway.

5F68B3DB-6947-474F-9515-53C4A0123F9E.thumb.jpeg.d1b03312a070e7a56dca74410f8ed243.jpeg

AFBB802C-9227-48BA-AFF5-9621DF452578.thumb.jpeg.58275d15716aa9420cf1fdb3d25a3eb7.jpeg