Discovery 1 "94" Automatic thoughts?

Maverik

Hello folks, I've got a mad idea to get an auto... and what looks to be a reasonable early D1 300tdi auto has come up locally, I'm pretty o fay with your standard ageing discovery ailments, but I've zero experience with any kind of LR autos, not looking for a project but a usable vehicle for me for the short term, said truck has elegadly full service history, it looks straight with 108k on the clock... Any pearls or realistic advice for me...

Cheers Mav

Pearls of wisdom? No. But I can tell you about two issues I had with mine, so you can look out for them... or the lack of them more precisely.

The selector on mine wouldn't line up quite with the numbers on the centre console, so you had to pull past 2 (for example) then push forward to get 2nd gear restriction. Not a major problem, but annoying sometimes.

I also had an issue with mine (along the lines of the above) where Park couldn't always be selected. I think this contributed to the parking pawl being broken off (my guess as the gearbox would click and the car would roll).

Both of these, once you knew about them, didn't pose problems but were annoying.

Scott

Oh yes, and if you plan on parking facing down a steep driveway, be prepared for low range or lots of revs to reverse back up first thing in the morning!

Having said the above, I found it more sedate on and off road, but more flexible too. With the manual and 235/85/16 tyres I have to use low range much more than the auto did.

hi maverick nothing wrong with an auto but check gears shift up and down ok and when its ticking over have someone inside put into drive when foot on the brake ok and listen for ant clinking or mettalic noise and try to look at flywheel plate as theyre prone to cracking as i had one and you can get the flywheel plate but its box off job , and have a look at box oil see if its redish and does not smell burnt :i-m_so_happy:

"and listen for any clinking or mettalic noise"