My First Prop UJ Replacement

OK, turns out that the big vibration I've been getting is from a worn UJ so I have my new joint and am preparing to replace it. It's my first time doing this and is probably the most complicated job I've done so far (I know some of you are wetting yourselves with laughter at this :P )

I'm following this terrific guide:

http://forums.lr4x4.com/index.php?showtopic=7982

thought I'd give you a step-by-step rundown of my progress, or lack of it :lol:

first thing I've done is jacked Serenity up and popped her on some axle stands on the rear axle. I've just been undoing the nuts at the axle end and have realised I will have to take the truck off the axle stands and move her slightly to allow me access to the fourth nut!! Rookie error?

John

Can't you just twist the prop to allow access?

If the front wheels are both chocked then it shouldn't be going anywhere, so you can take the handbrake off. I generally just jack one rear wheel up, so I can chock the other one, giving me three chocked wheels, but I work on a slope more often than not...so stopping it rolling is somewhat of a priority!

It only seemed to turn it so far. I'm working on a flat surface so I've taken it off the stands and its been much easier to roll it back and forth (carefully of course).

Things I've learnt so far:

1. It saves a lot of time and effort to give nuts a quick spray with wd40 and a clean before trying to remove them :rolleyes:

2. to move out the way before spraying wd40. on to the nuts. directly above your head. :ph34r:

you wouldn't have thought I was an educated man would you!! :lol:

got the prop off and I'm just giving the area around the circlip a good clean before removing them.

And speaking of proper tools, the next thing I've learnt is:

3. Have a PROPER, WELL MADE circlip remover!!!!!!