The "Oooh Thats A good idea" Lathe Thread

Right, this could be an intersting thread :)

I have a Boxford Lathe, nothing special, nothing big and for YEARS it has annoyed me that some things were just 'too big'

for it, b...ear in mind I have no Lathe training or knowledge at all, just what I have picked up.

For some months I have been thinking about a "Bigger" lathe, but size and space is an issue, and the Boxford is a nice small

compact single phase unit that I actually like,.......... just wish It was more powerfull .........bigger

A chance discussion with a Prof Enginner set my thoughts going :ph34r:

He said - "Up the Motor Power" and Up the Chuck size" "It will transform it"

So I did .....and he was 101% right

The 1/3 HP motor is now 3/4HP and the 3" chuck now a 6" chuck

WHAT a differnce :)

post-22-0-52216200-1307571057_thumb.jpg post-22-0-98617100-1307571075_thumb.jpg

Without his input I would have changed the entire lathe to get a bigger F chuck !

Also he said the 'buy a roller taper Tailstock Chuck Mount' and shove the old 3" chuck

on that as a 'steady', I have steadys but frankly have found they get in the way 99% of the time

The lathe has been transformed, so it made me start thinking :)

So, who else has things they have bought, modified know about / how to make a small

lathe a better bit of kit ?, stuff I didn't know existed is here x 2 what else is there maybe ??

Post away..... I am now focused on what else I might like that I didn't know was out there ?

Nige

A worthwhile mod indeed. Those Boxfords are very good tools.

So, having tripled motor HP, have you had any problems with the drive belt slipping? My Dad has a Boxford AUD, same as yours, and that has trouble with slip when taking an even slightly large cut, or drilling large holes. I assume you still have a single vee belt driving it.

I'm not sure what HP the motor is in Dad's machine, just a single phase one we had lying around :lol: