Towing a 90

Mr Bean

I am to collect my latest purchase - Defender at the weekend.

It will be a 400mile round trip.

It doesn't run so a friend of mine is going to tow for me with the use of an A-Frame.

My question is

"What is an A-Frame?"

Then

"Is it suitable?"

Followed by

"Will the transmission wind up?"

I have little experience of recovery some i need some help people, please.

Thanks,

Trev

If all four wheels are on the ground and the transfer box isn't in difflock then you're fine - the problem (and what causes recovery companies to be unwilling to tow LR's) is if two wheels are on a lift and two are rolling on the road, the vehicle can try to drive the two stationary wheels with obvious problems. This is made worse by viscous transfer boxes / LSD's etc. fitted to some vehicles (not 90's) which could cause a vehicle to try and drive over the recovery truck :blink:

Thanks for the links i shall chase some of them up tomorrow.

Another question is

"How does it steer?"

It follows the vehicle in front and with the steering lock off, the front wheels take the path of least resistance between the towing vehicle and the towed back wheels so it self steers. Remember to take the steering lock off.

I did an amount of towing with an A frame before I got a trailer (still got the frame) and it's not fun. Bought a 90 back from Yorkshire on the back of a 110.

Going along is fine, but any braking suddenly or on a corner will get very interesting very quickly. You really notice the difference trailer brakes make.

If you need to brake on a tight corner it will try and push the back of your towing vehicle out and jackknife. Other than slowing it feels fine so stick to large open road and avoid country lanes where possible.

This old chestnut has been done to death over on Difflock.com. Proper can o worms.....

Basic consensus is that with exception of recovery to a safe place it is not legal.