Reasonable Bench Vice..

Hi,

As the time draws near for me to start doing my 200TDi conversion I am starting to draw up a list of tools. Now I have a nice sturdy bench (if I could get to it to use :blink: ) but I have longed to have a vice. Sad but true :( .

Now I have hopefully covered off the threads so I can ask if any one has suggestions for a sensibly priced but sturdy vice for general garage use - holding things whilst sawing, grinding, bending, heating, filing and may be, just may be WELDING :)

Don't ask why but if the vice is available in red so much the better (so it will match my Nato tow hitch when I finish it :blink: ) but I don't know what I should look for..what size is good/bad, is a swivel base good? How big do the jaws need to be, tonnage :blink: etc etc....

I'm sure that my lack of all things mechanically minded will shine through :rolleyes: so be gentle, I'm still learning!

Thanks

Personally I would aviod new.

Go with something oldish and built "Brick****House" stylee :)

Record are good, also buy as big as you can accomodate

Not local to you, but a great place for these (they prob would have 30+ records in stock)

is Leeside Tools in Yapton, West Sussex, also a really big HD Record SH vice with svielly

base can be less than some chinese monkey metal nonsense that goes "POP" :blink: when using

it fior UJs in prop repalcements .

Maybe worth a trip down ?

I have a record 8 inch jaws swival base from there, bear in mind jaws etc can all be replaced with new :)

HTH

Nige

I've two.

A big old Record in the garage, was my dads. He bought is from a techy teacher when he was at school, the bloke was emigrating to Oz and clearing out. Anyroad it wasn't new then (early 50's) and is still going strong. I've used it to press out trailing arm bushes before now!

The other one in on the bench in my clean workshop (radio shack, darkroom, electronics blowing up room etc). Cost me ten quid from Aldi and much to my surprise I haven't broken it yet.