ADDITIONAL FUEL TANK(S)

Hello All,

I've been a LR junkie since my first 90 County tdi in the eighties, however, this is my first attempt at joining a forum. I 'm assuming it's not a 'gentlemen only' club.

Over the years, I've flirted with some series and lightweights and as I've also acquired four children along the way, I recently purchased my latest 'Nellie', a Defender 110 300 tdi 12 seater. With lots of seats for the kids, their chums, a few dogs, bags of shopping and a husband, I'm absolutely besotted with her. She's now a much loved member of the family and she is the preferred ride for the school run - "way cooler than the Merc."

Enough of the sentimental stuff........ We are seriously considering installing additional fuel tanks. It has been suggested that we opt for the 48L tanks in stainless steel to fit beneath the rear wheel arches. Isolating valves would be necessary to prevent fuel contamination. All advice would be appreciated - where to purchase the tanks from, any difficulties or problems we should be aware of, etc.

I've briefly introduced myself and would now like you to meet Nellie, the latest in a long line of 'Nellies' over the years.

post-4913-1208985378_thumb.jpg

Thanks.

Marie

Guest WALFY

Welcome. Don't listen to Ralph, he's a moderator and thinks that gives him special powers that come with the position and exteded by his 110. What you need to do is bobtail it and make it a 90. :P:P .

If you look at the top right of the screen and find the search button, there should be lots of sensible information on this subject. Mo Murphy for 1 is sorting this. Worth a PM at least.

Welcome. Don't listen to Ralph, he's a moderator and thinks that gives him special powers that come with the position and exteded by his 110. What you need to do is bobtail it and make it a 90. :P:P .