19J engines

i have this engine and its okay im told but...has a few chinks in its armour ive been told its the worst engine land rover ever fitted :(

ive looked for books and such but cant seem to find anything apart from forum comments that are seriously varied in opinion. so i turn to you again :blush:

so hit me from all sides and give me the bad news, the kinda stuff im lookin for is whats typical for this engine faults and strengths wise.

Ive been driving my 19j 90 for 5 years without a problem ,I dont bolt about in it doing 60mph ,I also leave it for about 10 second after stopping to let the oils in the turbo lubricate all the bits ,as per the manual, I think landrover got the standard engine in the 1980s and plopped a turbo on top,and if you drive around like a looney the pressure will crack the block.The later 200/300 engines are suppost to be smoothe ect but I prefer the older style, ive got a series 1 as well and enjoy a nice summers day with a big queue a traffic behind me as I plod about at 30 mph :lol: ,del

I bought my 90 with a 19J just under a year ago as a 'doo-er upper'. The engine was well tired when I got it but it always ran and started however rough it sounded.

It was swapped for another TD, mainly cause' I got it cheap and it seemed easier to swap the engine than rebuild the existing one- the 'new' lump was found to have four cracked pistons which I believe is a common problem with the 19Js'.

Having swapped the TD for a Tdi I really cannot see any reason for running with a TD - I would even say that it is easier to find Tdi's now than it is to get hold of TD's, although you should be able to pick up a running TD for well under a ton.