Raised Air Intake Effect on Performance

ajh

Has anyone seen installing a Mantec "mushroom top" type raised air intake on a 200TDI have an effect on turbo boost pressure? My boost seems to top out significantly lower with the intake system sealed up than if I remove the top from the filter housing which leads me to believe the system is too restrictive as-is. Without mounting a series of pressure gauges to determine where the bottleneck is I'd love to improve the airflow as I believe it's affecting my mileage and performance. (I gained about 10kph by pulling the air-cleaner top off).

Southdown and Safari both use a directional scoop which produces a ram air effect when driving forward, I think that a lot of other vehicle air box inlets are also forward pointing, where as a mushroom top does not produce a ram air effect.

I'm not an aerodynamics engineer but other shapes could produce the opposite and hinder air from entering the inlet.

If you are worried about performance and mileage swap to a forward point scoop.

Southdown and Safari both use a directional scoop which produces a ram air effect when driving forward, I think that a lot of other vehicle air box inlets are also forward pointing, where as a mushroom top does not produce a ram air effect.

I'm not an aerodynamics engineer but other shapes could produce the opposite and hinder air from entering the inlet.

If you are worried about performance and mileage swap to a forward point scoop.

From what I've read you'll not gain any significant ram air affect below 100-120mph. Also "ram air" affect would necessitate a widening of the opening, not narrowing, i.e. a reverse funnel. This needed to slow the airflow and cause the pressure to rise and increase the air density. A funnel, or narrowing of the opening will speed up the air flow and reduce density doing the opposite of ram air.

Yes Chicken, Ram air effect is low, some numbers found e.g. 1% pressure increase at 76mph or 0.15psi boost.