Creating a wooden load space on a 110

Hi all,

newbie here and pretty recent 110 owner (it took me a while to pluck up the courage to actually buy one).  

I’m in the process of renovating a relatively good Puma and am thinking of fitting a wooden floor to the rear cargo space.  

To make life a little easier I was going to source some standard drawers (not yet at the stage of building them myself) and then installing a base across the entire floor. Using a plywood base, then adding some hard wearing slats over the top (ideally teak or something similar).

Is this something that others have done ? Any tips or ideas ?

Congratulations on your new toy! When you say a base across the entire floor do you mean spanning both wheel arches with a drawer in the space below?

My 110 is a station wagon so only went as far back as the rear seats with drawers and cupboards. I put sound deadening pads on the floor and arches followed by carpet tiles up to and under the second row seats on the floor then built drawers and a seat on the right (looking in) and cupboards on top of the wheel arch on the left.  I had considered plywood floor but my main concern in the back was to keep space to a maximum and the flooring I put in ended up slightly under the height of the metal threshold so didn't reduce the height and there is enough headroom to sit on top of the drawers and brew up. Probably quite rough and ready compared to what you're looking at and it's certainly not a shoot ready polished shotgun cabinet but does the job. Drawers are quite easy if you can cut a straight line in some ply wood and you will get the maximum amount of space building them yourself.

43 minutes ago, Stellaghost said:

plywood if it gets wet the ply's will burst open