HYDROGEN GENERATOR KIT

Lorrick

Any Chemists out there :rolleyes: Something I came across as I was looking into building one,was a hydrogen generator as there are a lot of dealers in the US Raving about it ;) and a local car dealer I met was running his recovery truck with one and was saying how good it was. You can see them on Web pages they are a small Hydrogen generator kit that fits in the engine bay and through Electrolysis makes around 3 Liters of Hydrogen and Oxygen a minuet that is then fed into the air intake. Looking at the Chemistry side of life as they say it should make the fuel burn more cleanly and more efficiently , and improve performance and mpg, not a lot but some. Has anyone out there used or look into this system, and advice welcome :)

Regards

Richard

I'm no expert so this is little more than a guess but the amount of hydrogen and oxygen produced will be in exactly the right ratio to react back into water again.

Therefore I don't see how any more diesel will burned by the addition of extra oxygen as the hydrogen will use it up.

That is unless perhaps the reaction changes the temperature/pressure of the combustion chamber thus causing the diesel to burn more efficiently.

If that was the case you would expect car manufacturers to use this effect themselves to increase efficiency and reduce emissions.

Since they do not, then I will only believe this works when I see some hard evidence.

Till then it's snake oil.

Only my opinion though :D