Toyota

MogLite

Okay how about a sensible debate

My next vehicle will be an expedition style vehicle. I'm currently tooling around in 92 Isuzu, and I thought that would be good for the job, but I've fallen out of love with it after the engine blew, and the replacement was a PITA.

I was planning to get a nice late 300TDI Defender 110CSW, one of the definitive expedition vehicles, and to kit it out, something like this TD5 from Frogs Island, but with a full external cage

Matt-Johnston-110-017.jpg

However, the Defender is a bit short on creature comforts for my taste, and needs a lot of time and modifications to seating, soundproofing, central-locking etc etc. By the time I've got it what I want, I've spent a whole heap of money, and I'm still going to be banging my elbow on the door every two minutes, and my central locking is going to be a kit from Maplins

No other vehicle in the LR range is big enough, as I'll be travelling with my two kids, and I'm not very good at travelling light.

So I was thinking about the other definitive expedition vehicle - the Toyota Landcruiser. I know there are some Landcruiser owners here, so hopefully they can enlighten me.

This is what I'm thinking of, again from Frogs Island

DSC02837.jpg

I'd be looking at a pre-95 as I want the simpler 12 valve engine, but I prefer auto given the choice.

I'll buy the vehicle on condition rather than price, I've been amazed at the condition of my grey import Isuzu, so that seems like a better option than a UK car.

I reckon the UK cars will have diff locks, but are likely to have higher mileages and be rustier.

Although I plan on kitting it out to full blown expedition spec. Thats largely me being a poser, it probably wont get out of Europe. But if I decidde to go to Norway in winter, then it wont be the vehicle holding me back.

So whats a 'Cruiser like to live with ?