Stolen Land Rovers

SiWhite

Evening All,

Some on this forum might know that I'm a Police Officer. My Force is currently being hit very hard with thefts of Defenders. The half-county area I work has one stolen most nights. I've been asked to assist with my knowlege of the vehicles and links to the Land Rover community, with a view to getting any information possible on methods of theft, routes of vehicle disposal etc.

If you, or anyone you know, has some tenuous information which might prove useful, I'd love to hear it. Clearly I'm not saying that anyone on the forum steals Land Rovers :P but if you've had a vehicle stolen, or you know someone who has, I'd be really grateful of your assistance. I'm particularly interested in whether vehicles are being sold whole or broken.

I'm sure a few on this forum have suffered our collective worst nightmare - if you could spare a few moments to PM me details of the method used in the theft, I'm sure all Oxfordshire's Landy owners would be grateful. Useful details would be - was there any signs of broken glass left? Have you seen any sign of the Landy or parts since? What security measures have thwarted an attempted theft and what haven't worked? Was the landy pre-TD5 (i.e factory immobiliser)? Were the keys stolen? What about any really unique bits? Are the more challenge-prepared wagons going, or is it mostly standard vehicles?

If a couple of forum 'big guns' could post just to confirm my line of work so folk might feel better about PM'ing a stranger with these sensative details, I'd be grateful.

One problem is the complete lack of will to do anything by the police,

last year a mates Isuzu was stolen (with keys) it had a tracker on,

it was found in Doncaster with 5 similar vehicles outside a gypsy camp, when my mate asked what will you do about the other 5 he was told, "nothing they are not coming up as stolen," they didnt even run the numberplates.

One problem is the complete lack of will to do anything by the police,