Better than Solidworks? - and FREE!

simonr

I never thought I would even hint that there was something better - but here it is:

https://www.onshape.com/

It's a fully featured parametric CAD system that is cloud based and has a free version which only limits storage space to 5Gb (plenty IMHO) but otherwise is fully functional.

The modeling interface is so similar to Solidworks that you can hop between the two without having to learn much. It also has a few useful features that SW does not (but users have been asking for for years).

I think this might give them a run for their money.

From the point of view of users here, it will produce proper, accurate models which you can have CNC'd, laser cut, 3D Printed or just that you can fabricate in the knowledge they will all fit together & work correctly. You can import & export models in any CAD format. It allows collaboration - so for example if I started drawing a chassis, I could allow as many other people (via the web) to draw / update different bits and we all have access to the whole thing. This could be invaluable. It means you can share what you make with who you want without using pirate copies of software.

It even works on a Tablet!

I'm not going to abandon my SW subscription just yet - but I'm going to start using this in parallel and if it lives up to the hype, consider switching next June when my Subscription is due for renewal.

Si

Sounds good, will have a look. Solidworks knocked ProE off the top spot for many as ProE had got to a size where it was inflexible and unresponsive, I guess that has to happen to ProE at some point?